Located in New York City’s Tribeca neighborhood, 205 Hudson Street is the home of Hunter College’s MFA Program in studio art. In addition to providing studio space for its MFA candidates, 205 Hudson is a destination for the New York art community with a vibrant gallery program, diverse lecture series, and engaging public events. 205 Hudson Street has several labs and workshops for its students, including a woodshop, ceramics studio, digital workspace, photography studio, and printmaking studio. As part of the Hunter College Department of Art & Art History, the MFA Program works closely with MA students in Art History, the Curatorial Studies program, and the Hunter College Art Galleries.


MFA Program
The MFA Program in studio art is a three-year program designed to offer a wide range of opportunities for artists to develop their practice. The program provides individual studio space to all of its students in an environment that encourages experimen­tation, production, and critical dialogue. MFA students work with Hunter’s faculty both one-on-one and in group seminars, which focus on their art work as well as contemporary practice. Additionally, students  take classes in art history, theory and criticism, and other studio electives. The MFA Program frequently invites artists, curators, critics, and historians to do lectures, as well as do studio visits with MFA students at 205 Hudson.

The Hunter College Department of Art and Art History
The Department of Art and Art History at Hunter College comprises a nationally ranked and internationally recognized MFA program in studio art; an MA program that boasts the largest Art History faculty in the City University of New York system, offering courses from the ancient world to the contemporary; four galleries mounting student-researched professional caliber exhibitions; and robust and diverse undergraduate programs in both Studio Art and Art History. The history of the Department of Art and Art History at Hunter is woven through the story of modern art in New York. Beginning in 1951 when the painter Robert Motherwell joined the department to teach both painting and “The Artist and Modern Society,” the College made a conscious decision to hire working artists engaged with contemporary issues. This commitment to working artists has served the program well, and over the years Hunter’s studio art faculty has included—among many other well-known names—William Baziotes, Roy de Carava, Hollis Frampton, Raymond Parker, and Tony Smith. Long before Hunter awarded its first MFA degree in studio art in 1981, its list of artist alumni included Robert Morris, who would go on to teach at Hunter for nearly three decades, Alice Aycock, Robert Barry, Judy Rifka, Alan Saret, and Alan Sonfist, among many others. From 1960 and the hire of curator and historian Eugene Goossen from Bennington College, Hunter’s Art History program has been equally strong, and equally engaged with the cultural life of New York. Over the past decades, Hunter students have been taught by the eminent renaissance historian and theorist Leo Steinberg; the groundbreaking modern art historian, theorist and critic Rosalind Krauss; and the longtime curator and historian of American art William Agee. Our current Art History faculty boasts internationally recognized scholars in ancient, medieval, and modern art, and continues a Hunter commitment to curatorial practice as a branch of art historical research, a commitment personified by Distinguished Professor Emily Braun, curator of recent award-winning exhibitions at the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Guggenheim; Bershad Professor Joachim Pissarro, a veteran of MoMA and the Yale University Art Gallery; and Kossak Professor Thierry de Duve, one of the world’s foremost experts on the art of Marcel Duchamp, and curator of Nahum Tevet: Works on Glass 1972-1975, opening in September at the Leubsdorf Gallery.

Hunter’s full-time MFA Studio Faculty includes Drew Beattie, Andrea Blum, Daniel Bozhkov, Joel Carreiro, Susan Crile, Lisa Corinne Davis, Constance De Jong, Gabriele Evertz, Valerie Jaudon, Reiner Leist, Jeffrey Mongrain, Carrie Moyer, Paul Ramirez Jonas, Juan Sanchez, Nari Ward, Thomas Weaver, and Brian Wood. Full-time faculty in Art History includes Nebahat Avcioglu, Emily Braun, Wen-Shing Chou, Susanna Cole, Hendrik Dey, Cynthia Hahn, Lynda Klich, Michael Lobel, Maria Loh, Harper Montgomery, Maria Antonella Pelizzari, Joachim Pissarro, Howard Singerman, and Tara Zanardi. Click here for more information on Hunter's Faculty and the department of Art and Art History.